• Dalton Mar 21, 2012

    Id say its a good 4 stars

     
  • Svetlana Belkin Mar 12, 2012

    Anything that is word created in .doc and .docx with images, tables, ect. gets messed up when opened with LibreOffice.

     
  • Brendan Tang Mar 2, 2012

    Formatting is literally a nightmare.

     
  • keith d smith Feb 22, 2012

    Much better than Oracle's Open Office, this suite has been 100% compatible with MS Office generated documents and saves back to MS Office format with no translation issues.

     
  • greylinux Feb 19, 2012

    Windows has MS-Office, Linux has LibreOffice, enough said.

     
  • Bob Davidson Feb 16, 2012

    Easy to use if you have MS Word experience. Nothing really tricky. I give it four stars because it doesn't directly convert my Word-created envelopes to printable formats. I had to modify them so they would print properly.

     
  • Santiago Jerez Jan 23, 2012

    not sure what people are expecting for a free program as that in my opinion rivalas MS Word very well. it has worked very well for me and i have used for book reports and research papers wchich include the bibliography page, header & footer, page numbering and elaborate headings. ps, make sure to get ALL the add ons or the program window will close on you.

     
  • Luis Perez Jan 18, 2012

    I am so glad that I found out that I don't have to be tied down to Microsoft Prodructs. I first heard of this product when I went to Iraq with US Army during a deployment. I went to a computer lab and the Army used Open Office for the computers so that they can save money because the computer lab was on a budget. Libre Office came out of Open Office and it does so much and with the big list of extension that you can download it makes it even better. You can even upload documents directly to Google Docs with the push of button when you download the extension for this feature.

     
  • agus salim Jan 9, 2012

    i don't believe that i can use this software, so powerfull, so nice

     
  • duane Dec 19, 2011

    Excellant Word Processing Application.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • P.A. di Georgio Dec 11, 2011

    I'd rate this software at 3/5 stars. My three main criticisms are as follows:

    1. The software does not mislead you into thinking that you will have seamless compatibility with .doc files, since each time you save in a format other than an .odt you are warned about the preservation of formatting, however...abiword appears to save .doc files and when a windows user opens them using MSWord, they actually look correct. Therefore, a higher degree of compatibility should be striven for.

    2. This program randomly crashes on me all the time. It's annoying having to troubleshoot all the time, only to have a new cause pop up a few months down the road, resulting in more troubleshooting...the process goes on ad infinitum.

    3. Another reviewer is spot-on in the critique of the "90's interface". The developers really need to bring the GUI up to 2011...2012 is right around the corner.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Aarif Dec 8, 2011

    This is good but not totally helpful cause sometimes it gives problem when you try to use it in windows. It destroys the format. It's not that safe if your using windows and linux side by side.

    Open Office would have been better.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • TJ Nov 24, 2011

    It's okay, but the developers definitely have their work cut out for them.
    Fix the terrible interface already. It's so dated looking. It makes a modern desktop look gross and turns a lot of people off.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Saeed Zarinfam Nov 22, 2011

    Good but not complete as MS Word.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Mariana Beatriz Nov 20, 2011


    It's far better than Open Office, but stills has that annoying thing of erasing the "bottomline" or "header" and the "footnotes" (sorry my English, i'm from Argentina!) when re-opening the same doc. In this type of problems, the save-as-PDF saves my life.

    If someone reads this and knows how to solve this particular problem, please contact with me!
    Still newbie!

     
  • Matt McCune Nov 18, 2011

    I am not happy with LibreOffice. The spell checker does not work, even after taking up the directions found on several Ubuntu sites. The "insert" button does not allow installing a complete file at the bottom of the drop down menu that comes up like OO.o does. Either give me back my OpenOffice or get this fixed. I reprint books for a living and this has caused me a whole lot of extra work and having to manually read texts with the hope I can catch all the mis-spellings, etc.

    Since going to Natty 11.10 I am not happy with Libre. It is just a case of someone tampering with something that already worked well.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Erwin Nov 8, 2011

    Works great when you work independently. But the moment you use LibreOffice to open documents made in MSword, the format and text is all messed up =/

    Good for making stuff like the occasional memo for printing, but collaborating with MS Office users is just woefully messed up. :(

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Cristian Bravo-Lillo Nov 1, 2011

    A bit less stable than OpenOffice, but still an amazing tool. Although I prefer to use open formats, I'm forced to exchange complex documents with colleagues in MS Word formats on a daily basis, using version tracking, notes, etc. I'm glad to say that nobody notices any difference.

    While having some small issues at opening docx files, LibreOffice is far superior to MS Word at almost every trivial task.

     
  • zman Oct 29, 2011

    Nice application, one of the best office products I've ever seen.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • izar Oct 26, 2011

    has any function a normal user would use in MS office, and has also most of the functions you never new about.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Andy Nicol Oct 16, 2011

    It's a very good word processor and alternative to Microsoft products. It takes a little bit of time to get used to where things are in the menu system but after that it's jst as good.

     
  • Joe Mitchard Oct 14, 2011

    The only Open Source alternative to Microsoft Office. Full of useful options and customisable settings, including full compatibility with other office software such as OpenOffice (ODF), Microsoft Word 97-03 (doc) and the current Microsoft Office format (docx).

     
  • Mohsen Mohammadi Oct 10, 2011

    Nice one with the great functionality, but the UI shoul be better... more usable.

     
  • Albert Oct 5, 2011

    Very glad i found this!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • David Oct 3, 2011

    The UI is pleasantly straightforward unlike newer MS Office applications and I like it that way. With OpenOffice I was having problems converting documents for use with MS Word. However, with LibreOffice I've had no compatibility problems to date!

     
  • matthias Oct 2, 2011

    Definitely the best OS Office application. Has some rough edges (collaborative editing with > 5 persons is sometimes hard), but its great for a free app.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Neelabh Gupta Sep 26, 2011

    Its great! The feature I was waiting for desperately is now working - Spell Check!
    Its a great software. Haven't experienced problems, yet.

     
  • Mostafa Barri Sep 17, 2011

    this app is awesome it can run and edit and create nearly any kind of text files

     
  • Murali Krishna Aug 27, 2011

    work's really great but the interface looks outdated...something like office xp. UI needs a lot of improvement when compared to office 2007 and office 2010. Still we like it because it is free.!!!

     
  • Haden Pereira Aug 19, 2011

    Great alternative to MS Office.. Still needs a lot of work on the UI though..

     
  • Humberto F. da Luz Jr. Aug 3, 2011

    Functionaly is great, but its design is terrible.

     
  • Jonathan Aug 2, 2011

    I've been using the word processor few a few weeks instead of Win7 and Office. I like the Ubuntu environment better.

    Today, Libre Office crashed, losing me about 2 hours or work. Not happy obviously. No backup, no history in Dropbox where I was saving it to. What concerned me was what caused it to crash because I could have sworn that I was trying to save when it crashed.

    Sure enough, pressing CTRL+S causes it to crash instantly. Losing anything I have added to a document.

    I cannot think of a worse error I have ever come across in 30 years of computer. Seriously. You try and save something, and it does the absolutel opposite - loses it forever.

    Sure it doesn't happen to everyone, but type in "Libre office crash" into Google and have a look at the autocomplete.

    Q. What use is a wordprocessor you cannot trust to save your documents?

    A. None.

     
  • AN Jul 18, 2011

    Shifting from MS Office takes some time. But after that, its all you want.

    A little improvement towards User Interface would be great.

     
  • Ticatla Jul 12, 2011

    I'm a full time Ubuntu user since 5 years and an OpenOffice user since many more. I know its limitations and advantages when comparing it to MS Word and I even work in shared documents between the two programs just giving a little bit more of my time to the final edition.
    I switched to LibreOffice full of good attitude, but to be honest I can not see the big improvements other reviews are talking about. Sounds more like intentional developer's propaganda than honest user to user review... but that's only my feeling.
    Continuing with the software functionality, overall it works more or less the same than the good old OpenOffice writer, but I have found some new details that are rely annoying me as I use them a lot: the format paintbrush does not copy the full format properly, for example copies well the kind of paragraph format and the size font, but not the size font. Actually, in general all the format related to the styles is quite buggy, it does not apply the full desired format and it continues to make the paragraphs skip an entire page if a new style is applied. I have been struggling for almost a month and with a deadline coming close, probably I'm going to forget about using the styles to give format to my document and do it manually, as I can not find how to fix it.
    Ah, yes, another thing. The official webpage is not as good as the one of OpenOffice is, and the LibreOffice specific help is very poor, we absolutely rely on the OpenOffice forums and wiki. But of course, my problem is not there.

    I appreciate all the hard work that open software developers put into it, but lets speak with the facts. Am I doing something wrong? Please give me light or give back OpenOffice to the repositories.

    Sadly but true, LibreOffice has been my only complain since I moved to Natty.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Indian Art Jul 12, 2011

    I use this program almost on a daily basis.

    This program is:
    * Supported in many languages
    * Great productivity software
    * Cross Platform (Windows, Mac & Linux)
    * Free
    * Helpful & passionate community support worldwide
    * Supported by Giants like Google
    * Great free extensions like:
    http://code.google.com/p/ooo2gd/downloads/detail?name=ooo2gd_3.0.0.oxt&can=2&q=
    that let you quickly & easily upload to Google Docs

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • George Mason Jul 6, 2011

    This program is quite simply excellent.

    It has all the features that I was used to from MS Word 2007 - Styles, Citation Management, etc. - and it can read and write .docx files.

    What really makes it shine is its potential for customisation. You complete control over exactly how your toolbars are laid out, and it's easier to create your own set of styles to use between documents than it is in Word. (Make them in one doc, save it as a template, set that template as the default and you're away).

     
  • samuel butts Jun 26, 2011

    best word processor available for linux, bit slow loading on lower spec machines but fully featured enough to get all your jobs done.

     
  • tdmeskimo@hotmail.com Jun 6, 2011

    I love my LibreOffice Suite, not just the writer but the suite. Currently I am taking on line classes for Computers and Information Technology and I have to learn MS Office 2010, and in the "Save As" is see I can save document with the ".odt" extension. So now in class I save files with the .docx but for my self I save files with the .odt and have cross compatibility from my Ubuntu Linux files and my Win7 MS Office 2010 student files. I love Open Source programs and try to use them much as possible!

    Excellent job keep up the great work!

     
  • ExposedElements Jun 6, 2011

    I recently had to write a website proposal for a client and was able to complete the whole thing without fumbling around. The UI is nice and clean and everything works. The export to PDF is the icing on the cake

     
  • Mohammed Nabeel May 30, 2011

    It's a good word-processor, almost as good as MS-Word. Supports multiple formats, including .doc, which is very helpful for Linux newbies, migrating from Windows.

    Plus you can also create PDFs of your document without any third-party application dependency.

    Requires some rework on the header and footer section options.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Robert May 20, 2011

    Zar?bisty

     
  • Ehsan Bostandoust Raad May 18, 2011

    Of course it's not as good as MS Office 2010, but i think it will be better in future.
    Problem with editing foot notes, headers, etc. of docx files

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Rytis May 13, 2011

    All you need is right here, the best part is that's free!!

     
  • Gerald B. Aycardo May 12, 2011

    One of the best options for a business suite.
    Definitely will up the standards among competitors - OpenOffice & Microsoft.

     
  • May 12, 2011

    Although it has miles to go with many milestones to pass before it can be even compared to Microsoft Word, LibreOffice Writer has shown improvements so quickly on its 'parent' OpenOffice.org Writer.

    >> Performs basic editing formatting tasks smoothly
    >> Attractive export to PDF feature

    << Saving in other formats than .odt usually loses some formatting (example; does not save table in .docx)
    << Table formatting rigid and limited
    << Poor on drawing and graphics

     
  • Bryn Lee May 8, 2011

    This for me is a god send. Clean, smooth, fast, powerful & so easy to use.

     
  • hero1900 May 5, 2011

    ?? ???? ??????? ???????? ????? ?? ?????? ??? ?? ????? ?? ?? ??? ??????? ??? ??? ?? ????? ?????? ??? ????????

     
  • aan0213 May 4, 2011

    the best OS office suite..

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Plinio Casarotto May 3, 2011

    Stable? Not So much...try to modify MS office documents with EndNote bibliography... LOff Writer just closes... I miss OpenOffice...

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Austin Kincade Apr 29, 2011

    Extremely good office suit still don't know any difference between this and open office but it amazing

     
  • silas Apr 23, 2011

    Fantastic program, horrible UI

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • TheNerdAL Apr 16, 2011

    Probably the best free alternative to MS Windows.

     
  • Caleb Blackmore Apr 15, 2011

    Absolutely brilliant and free!

    It's just as good as Microsoft Word but it's free! Writer is probably the best word processor out there for now and as it's cross platform (Windows, Linux and Mac) you can easily share your files with others without having to worry about incompatibility. Also it's almost exactly the same as OpenOffice so you should be able to use it easily if you've had experience with OpenOffice Writer.

    The only thing that could improve is that it's not 100% compatible with MS Office 2007/10 files which is quite a big problem but I'm sure as time passes this issue will be addressed.

    Overall this is a brilliant word processor for Ubuntu and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

     
  • Bo Huang Apr 13, 2011

    Please add a good grammar checker. As a non-native English speaker this is very much needed. In comparison, the office 2007 grammar checker is very good. (I tried languagetool extension, which is very bad).

     
  • Scott Mar 4, 2011

    This program is solid, with great compatibility for MS Word documents. It is very stable, and has many great features that you would have to pay good money for elsewhere. Still, it could use a fresh coat of paint... the interface is a little dated.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Felix Schröter Feb 26, 2011

    Yes! I really like it!

    It is more compatible with other formats like odf than OpenOffice 3.3.

    It is the best free Office Suit and it could be better than MS Office.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • email@cassidyjames.com Feb 20, 2011

    LibreOffice Writer is great! It's an awesome document-creation tool/word processor is great by itself, but is also compatible with Microsoft Office Word files. It's very full-featured.

    The only thing I don't like about Writer is its non-native nature (it doesn't blend in perfectly with all themes and is slow at times), but it does a pretty good job. The functionality more than makes up for that.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Feb 8, 2011

    Small improvements over OpenOffice Writer, but welcome. The current version is not so stable, but hey, it's beta.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Bilal Akhtar Feb 4, 2011

    Supports all popular formats, including MS Word 2007 and below. Much faster, and many improvements over OpenOffice writer

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
Ï€