• Lilian Anatolie Moraru Feb 4, 2011

    Good BUT they forgot to include PPPoE over Wireless as it's now... <=> No internet for a lot of students that have to use it in the University and not only...

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Travis Shivers May 6, 2011

    I like that this integrated into the menu bar, but that is about all that I like. I doesn't detect all the available wireless networks and it refreshes the list of available wireless networks very slowly. I had to wait five minutes one time for it to find my home network.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Jean-Christophe Berthon May 9, 2011

    This little tool does the job, it connects you easily to wired and wireless network. It was also surprisingly easy to configure it to connect to my coporate network via VPN! Great app!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • step21 May 14, 2011

    A lot of things are missing :
    - No preferential connecting order for wireless
    - You can't see hidden wireless networks (MAC address replacement)
    - Not compatible with physical wifi switches (when switching on, no wireless available)
    - It seems that it don't display IPv6 information when IPv4+IPv6 connected

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

     
  • Carlos Araiza May 21, 2011

    Every time my laptop comes out of sleep the wireless is very slow to reconnect. Very annoying.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Me May 21, 2011

    It refreshes slow to detect wireless networks, even not all wireless networks nearby are detected but it does the job. It works really well on a wired network, So it gets 3.5 stars.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • zman May 25, 2011

    picks up 99% of networks.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Elvis D. May 31, 2011

    Very good software, enterprise ready and simple to setup.
    Could improve UI.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Hazique Quazi Jun 21, 2011

    it works absolutely fine in 10.10 but in 11.04 it sometimes just doesn't detects wireless networks which are within range...

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Indian Art Jul 12, 2011

    I find this a very versatile program.

    Works efficiently in different airports, hotels & houses in different parts of the world.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Arzhan Singh Aug 9, 2011

    As mentioned before great for wired LAN connections but things get messed up occasionally when using Bluetooth to connect to Internet and restart becomes necessary.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Dennis Andrew Gutowski Jr Aug 27, 2011

    There is no way to run this app now outside of indicator applet, of which I personally loathe.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • step21 Oct 15, 2011

    Negative :
    - No preferential connecting order for wireless
    - When using physical wifi switches, the refresh takes a long time
    - You can't see hidden wireless networks

    Positive :
    - MAC spoofing (very usefull for anonimity or to reset the timer of time-limited Free Wifi)
    - VPN compatibility

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Danny Alcini Oct 31, 2011

    Network Manager worked seamlessly for me as long as all defaults were left. It connected without fail both my wired and wireless networks (tested two separate wireless routers). However, there were a few minor bugs, such as the need to close, and reopen the connections settings dialogue after authenticating with my admin password before the fields are editable. What I found most lacking is the fact that there is no documentation, and although it allows you to create multiple connection profiles, there is no apparent way of switching between them. I have been unable to use the static connection profile I have created as there is no way to designate it as the active profile.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Akira Nov 7, 2011

    Works very well and stays connected withouut annoying drops (far as program is concerned). Not always setup and ready to go and can be confusing for strangers. Little work on gui would benefit as a whole. Other than that Its always installed and working for me.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Duncan Aug 12, 2011

    This app has always been problematic for me. Wired connections are reliable, and it doesn't often give me trouble. Wireless functionality on the other hand is shaky when it does work, but that's just it - WHEN it does work. It seems to have a mind of its own.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • John Locke May 7, 2011

    Network Manager works great under a wired connection but when switching to wireless with a manually compiled driver, it tends to disconnect and sometimes cause a system-wide crash. Other than that, it should be adequate (as the three star rating implies) for most users.

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

     
  • Yann Sionneau May 20, 2011

    This software is really rubish, I have never seen something working as bad and staying as long in a GNU/Linux distribution. It works well under the simple situations (wired+dhcp), don't ask for more.
    Don't try to hack some network stuff without desactivating it, it is a nightmare. 802.1X support is sometime really crappy too. Ubuntu definitely needs something simpler and that works better than this crapware.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Sebastock Apr 30, 2011

    The wireless connection used to freeze my laptop for no reasons. I switched to wicd and I didn't have any problems so far.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • George Apr 30, 2011

    it's good but it still lacks some quite useful features

     
  • AN Jul 18, 2011

    Now thats a one window operation and status. Works pretty good for me.

    However one thing is problematic is multiple addresses have difficulty in accepting default gateway. A matrix parameter would be an excellent addition to the current configuration parameters.

    Wireless networking is good but if you want to have some detailed statistics, then you have to revert to CLI.

     
  • Kasper Feb 15, 2012

    Works very well with Cisco VPN connections

     
  • mike allberry Mar 7, 2012

    Pain in the backside for me, upgraded ubuntu 10.10 to 11.04 and it stops working, re install it, it doesnt work still, still cant connect to wifi and my wifi router in downstairs and my pc is upstairs in my room, not a happy chappy tbh

     
π