• Feb 15, 2011

    Does what it says, and does it well. Not as featureful as k3b, but how often do you really need the advanced features anyway?

    Oh, and for Windows refugees: burning an iso isn't an advanced feature ;)

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • YWL van Duyn Apr 30, 2011

    It seriously annoys from time to time, but when it is actually working, it's burning solid CDs.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Caleb Blackmore Jul 1, 2011

    Absolutely rubbish. Filled with bugs and never does what it's supposed to. Always crashes.

    My advice, use K3B instead, it's much better in my opinion.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Matthew Duffy Jul 21, 2011

    Other reviews for this software read, "Rock Solid Burning App", I disagree. I had many errors and wasted several blanks. I thought I had it when I specified burning speeds, but even then I went one for three successfully created.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Christopher Brown Aug 17, 2011

    Step 1. Insert blank CD
    Step 2. Burn using Brasero
    Step 3. Throw away freshly burned coaster
    Note: If you enjoy wasting your time burning coasters, go to step 1 and repeat.

    If not...

    Step 4. Uninstall Brasero
    Step 5. Install GnomeBaker
    Step 6. Burn CD

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Jesse Bright Oct 20, 2011

    Not sure why this program is still the default, it produces unreadable discs a vast majority of the time. Do yourself a favor and install K3b instead.

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

     
  • J. Matthew Beck Oct 27, 2011

    Overspins drive, throwing power calibration errors. Sometimes magically works when specifically told to use 4x on a dvd, then other times only 2x works, yet other times won't burn at all. Other linux packages work flawlessly so it isn't the drive.

    My advice is to uninstall this ASAP. How it became the default burner in Ubuntu I don't know.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Ajith K Punnoose Oct 29, 2011

    This thing broke all the CDs and DVDs I have tried to burn :P

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Ryan Sharp Nov 5, 2011

    Not only does it fail to load most of the time, it doesn't even allow me to select the Disc I want to burn to. It shows a blank drop-down menu, which after clicking, shows a buggy appearance of my Disc, which I am unable to click.

    For goodness sake.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Marko Niketi? Nov 7, 2011

    Love its simplicity, but what to do with program that is unreliable most of the time?!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • John C Nov 16, 2011

    K3b is SO much better and more stable.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Steve McAbee Feb 21, 2012

    I don't know why this program got such bad reviews, it worked great for me! I had to download a encryption
    tool but after that it worked flawlessly.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Matt1981 Apr 24, 2011

    Not at all good at producing simple data backups. I've wasted seven out of eight DVD's today.
    At first, I thought it was me but even after a fresh OS install it still knocked out discs with corrupted data. I switched to K3B, and guess what? It worked.

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

     
  • Mark Lines Oct 19, 2011

    I have had nothing but bad luck with this program. From it not releasing the DVD drive after a burn to creating unreadable disks. In a phrase, not reliable for "Prime Time" I can not reccomend it at this time.

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful

     
  • Hypercube Feb 20, 2011

    It is a nice application, but way too buggy. It has ruined many blank CDs and DVDs on multiple installations, and many users have had similar experiences. Try k3b, it's more reliable.

    20 of 25 people found this review helpful

     
  • Kruno Jul 14, 2011

    This one didn't do it for me. I tried to burn a simple folder with some photos and it ruined like 4-5 empty CD's. I tried with lowering the speed of writing but no luck, so I finally removed it.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Javier Ivona May 1, 2011

    This application really has what it takes to be a useful and easy-to-use disc burner. Very satisfied.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Giulio Collura Oct 5, 2011

    Don't use this program. It is installed by default and it *should* work, but in truth reality it fails to burn your discs a lot of time.
    It's a really bad program, avoid that.

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful

     
  • Igor Dove?er Oct 25, 2011

    I remove this Brasero Disc Burner from every Ubuntu distribution after installation.
    Don't like this program, unreadable discs in previous versions, also now included with Ubuntu 11.10 the same story.

    So Brasero Disc Burner is going to Trash/Uninstall/Remove.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Brett Cornwall Jan 31, 2011

    This all-in-one application really shows how a program can be beautiful. The interface is lovely, the flow of creating your discs is well-paced, and it's always been reliable

    Highly recommended

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful

     
  • Thomas LeJeune Apr 27, 2011

    Brasero may lack some of the features of K3b, but its simple and it does what it says.

    6 of 12 people found this review helpful

     
  • yanglifu90 Oct 21, 2011

    I was ripping an audio CD but found it took 10 minites to tranfer 1 Megabyte of data. It is frustrating.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Danté Ashton Oct 23, 2011

    I'm sorry to say that this application should be avoided...actually, removed on sight; even at the most careful of settings it will ruin disks, sometimes it will even try to burn yet another copy (and another, and another) onto your freshly burned disk, overlapping each other.

    Honestly, destroy this application; it leaves a foul taste in my machines mouth.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Roshan Kamath Oct 25, 2011

    For a 'default' application Brasero is really buggy.
    During the transition from Ubuntu 11.04 to 11.10 - I had problems with burning both CDs and DVDs with Brasero. Now, even after the official release of 11.10, Brasero fails to burn DVDs (complains about 'power calibration full'). I've since moved to Xfburn and it does a far better job.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Demetrius Papademetriou Nov 13, 2011

    If you are looking for a CD/DVD burner to replace Gnomebaker in Ubuntu 11.10 do not bother with this one. It is a waste of time

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • joe Abbey Apr 2, 2011

    I created many iso disks with this and it hasn't wrecked one of my disks!! On windows, alot of my cd's were wrecked with roxio.

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

     
  • c111100101 Mar 26, 2011

    ????? ?????, ??? ????????? ???????????? ? ??????????.

    1 of 7 people found this review helpful

     
  • step21 Apr 2, 2011

     
  • Daniel Candelaria Apr 11, 2011

    creates audio CDs that don't work. Im sure it works for some people, but for some reason doesn't work on my PC

     
  • Alberto Santamaria Apr 24, 2011

    Working fine.

     
  • gabriele.lanaro Apr 29, 2011

    It does the job but it is too much minimalistic, I prefer k3b, with more option and a logical interface.

     
  • lemio May 2, 2011

    Works nice and fast. No difficult options, only burning... without having troubles

     
  • Mufaddal Kabul Oct 1, 2011

    It's not for a newbie.

     
  • Majal Abe Mirasol Oct 24, 2011

    Still breaks about half of the CDs during burn. Two stars because "sometimes" it works. Can K3b instead be used as the default burning program for Ubuntu?

     
  • Bryan Perkey Feb 26, 2011

    Very good burning application. The only drawback is enabling more advanced features. I like the simplicity out of the box, but a simpler method to enable desired features is a must.

     
  • John Oliver Mar 28, 2011

    I like Brasero as it is very simple to use to create CDs and DVDs. However, I think it's 1:1 copy feature should not require you to copy the disc to an ISO file first and then burning that image to disc

     
  • FReshkidjnr Apr 5, 2011

    hardly crashes, and gets the job done. minimum fuss.

     
  • Alex Solanos Apr 29, 2011

    It is very simple and supports a lot of features. But it has a lot of bugs:
    a) Sometimes it stuck while burning and even if I wait one hour or so I have to force quit it through a terminal or something...
    b) It destroys the CDs. Maybe 1/4 CDs is being destroyed, the others work perfectly though!

     
  • TheTom May 1, 2011

    Brasero definitely isn't the most feature-rich disc burner around, but it doesn't has to be. It does what it says it does, and it does it very well. I've burned A LOT of ISOs (trying tons of various Linux distros for an old notebook), and it hasn't disappointed my once.

     
  • Ryan Batson May 1, 2011

    It works well, but it seems to take quite awhile (getting started and finishing, in particular). Sometimes not able to eject CD/DVD, but I can use the terminal to do it myself.

     
  • nolatux May 6, 2011

    Tried burning Fedora DVD iso. After 2 spent discs, I'm going to give K3b a try.

     
  • Adeer May 11, 2011

    It easily gets the job done. Just perfect for people with less knowledge about computers.

     
  • abrianb May 14, 2011

    Wow buggy, slow and thats all the good points

     
  • Saman Sadeghi May 24, 2011

    I've burned a couple of .iso files to both CD and DVD media without issue. Brasero has done what I've asked!

     
  • SlickMcRunfast May 27, 2011

    Brasero never completed a burn due to a checksum error. I installed GnomeBaker and it worked right away. I even manually ran md5sum on all files and everything is fine. My guess is that Brasero doesn't like my burner.

     
  • Ashwin Haridas May 30, 2011

    Always been a headache inducing software in my experience. It has wasted an endless amount of CDs and DVDs. And all this over three different computers. k3b worked fine on all three. Even when Brasero does burn it burns slower than k3b. This is all my personal experience. Yours might be different.
    But I'm a fan of the simple UI. I just wish it wasn't so buggy and slow.

     
  • sashi Jun 1, 2011

    Nice n simple interface but has bugs. i lost many dvds while writing.

     
  • Dinesh Dutt Jun 6, 2011

    This is one of the buggiest programs out there. When I used the versions shipped with earlier versions of Ubuntu, it fairly consistently resulted in corrupted CD/DVD.

    Today is the first time I tried it in 11.04. I stuck a DVD+RW disc with data on it in one drive and a blank DVD+R disc in another drive. Nautilus prompted me to open Brasero and I agreed. I copied the data from the DVD+RW disc into this blank one and said burn. Brasero overwrote the DVD+RW disc and created a unusable disc. I lost data!!!

    k3b on the other hand did the right thing. It prompted me with the correct disc indicating that this was blank compared to the DVD+RW. I've always had great results with k3b. k3b and digikam are 2 KDE programs that easily outshine the gnome equivalents.

     
  • kavith k george Jun 17, 2011

    i have write many image file.. no problem found

     
  • Michael Clements Jun 18, 2011

    It's got a nice simple interface but it destroys more discs than it burns. This is with Taiyo Yudens on a Plextor drive that burns with 100% accuracy using other apps.

     
  • dinesh Jun 25, 2011

    I lost several blank CDs because of this buggy software. Now installed GnomeBaker. This should not be there in the default installation.

     
  • Zorbas Jun 26, 2011

    Messed up a few blank discs and made me really angry! Since then I replace it with GnomeBaker on every fresh install.

     
  • Jaime Rodriguez Jun 27, 2011

    It used to work perfectly, now it is destroying cd's like they are out of style.

    When it worked it does a great job. I hope the dev's fix this excellent piece of software.

     
  • Wendy Collings Jun 29, 2011

    Used Brasero for a couple of years without problems; upgraded to the latest version this month and decided to ditch it when it stiffed 2 out of 3 data CDs. (I think the 3rd one worked because I stopped it before it did the checksum process.) Tried K3B instead and have had no problems with that.

     
  • Mike Jul 16, 2011

    OK it is not as polished as k3b, but has so far performed well

     
  • Green Growbot Jul 19, 2011

    I thought Brasero was a great program for the past year or so, BUT im telling you now that if yoou want an easier way to do DVD authoring...use "DeVeDe" and "xfburn". DeVeDe will write your files to iso and if you were using Brasero just for img burning, you need to make a left turn and give XFburn a shot! Incredibly simple and can even fix rewritables for use.

     
  • Saie Jul 29, 2011

    its almost replaced nero for me.
    Only bug I found so far is that when I copy a disc.. it does the copying, then brasero ejects the disc and closes as if it has copied.. but it hasn't. Wth?

     
  • James Aug 11, 2011

    Never totally successful. Poor burning quality. Wastes disks! Try K3b - more reliable.

     
  • Darren Weslow Aug 21, 2011

    It works ok to burn the iso images,but will agree that this application ruins disks often.

     
  • Deven Abhyankar Aug 28, 2011

    Beautiful and simple Disc burner, Does everything perfectly, I love its simple looks yet 100% efficient performance.

     
  • MaXiMuS Aug 30, 2011

    )= Another destroyed disk...3 years of Brasero and far too many failed writes...Should have installed K3b long ago..so much more reliable.

     
  • Doug Walrath Aug 30, 2011

    Works for me, I've burned CDs with this and it worked just fine.

     
  • Peter Neubauer Sep 1, 2011

    Ruined 3 of 3 discs. Only produced corrupted data. As suggested by many other users, Ill try K3B instead. Wondering why this buggy software is bundled with Ubuntu.

     
  • Ramsey Sep 2, 2011

    The interface is really the only good point. I ruin four out of five discs I use with this program. I've run it on multiple computers and the result is always the same. I want to like Brasero but it just doesn't work as advertised.

     
  • dryphi Sep 3, 2011

    I like it, it does what I need it to, but I would like the option to write an ISO image to a USB flash drive. I can "burn" only to CD / DVD. Well, what if I simply want to put an image on a flash drive? Sounds simple enough, right? Yet I cant find a single program that allows me to do this.

     
  • Ahmed Adel Sep 8, 2011

    Crashes frequently. I suggest using k3b instead of this.

     
  • asadullah Sep 11, 2011

    Wish I could give it negative stars done ruined several one time right to disc. Can't believe it's the default really go with k3b if your new

     
  • JMW Sep 27, 2011

    I am surprised at how bad this software is. Never seems to work right. It tells you it wrote a disk successfully when it did not and vice versa. Very strange.

    Disc burning has been around for years (5 to 10?) now. I don't understand why they are having such a hard time producing a working product. Going to try k3b. Hope it is better.

     
  • Si Dedman Oct 1, 2011

    Stops after 3mb. Rubbish.

     
  • Vidmantas Oct 3, 2011

    Tried to burn DVD disc two hours. Result - wasted 1 DVD disc and bad mood.

    Luckily found K3b DVD/CD burning app. It worked fine. Really good application.

     
  • Michael Myles Oct 4, 2011

    Never works..I still have to boot into windows 7 to burn dvd

     
  • njko Oct 9, 2011

    It's a CD/DVD burning software that could have fantastic features but it always fails to burn. Absolutely useless.

     
  • Erick Araya Oct 9, 2011

    I tried to burn several DVD and CD s and always had to burn them twice because the first time always crashed the discs just starting to burn them. I rather other software than this one for example K3b

     
  • dust1nb3ss@yahoo.com Nov 2, 2011

    Not A good Burner Or Ripper. Use K3B Much more reliable.

     
  • dustin Nov 5, 2011

    I am using a default ubuntu 11.10 install, and am getting errors while burning a video dvd. I googled the issue, and many people are having the same problem.

     
  • Benjamin Lee Erickson Nov 5, 2011

    I'm pretty disappointed with Brasero as a default application. It's now ruined 9 out of 10 cds burned with it.

     
  • Akira Nov 7, 2011

    It does the job of buring in the most minimal gui fashion. I do not use this because the limitations are frustrating. As many suggest K3B is the pimp'n tool you'll want instead.

     
  • Sinan Cetin Nov 8, 2011

    It is best to create unreadable junk; there a lot of down sides, try something else if you do want your disks reliable

     
  • Tim Farnum Nov 11, 2011

    Previous versions of Brasero worked OK. This one is awful. What happened? I'm switching back to K3b. I don't like adding in all those KDE libraries and processes to my mainly Gnome system, but it's better to have things work.

     
  • jimbelay Nov 13, 2011

    It produces unreables dics a vast majority of the time. I'm sorry to say that this application should be avoided and replace by an other but wich one? For the moment I can't burn... It's a bad trip. I am really disapointed by the quality of this program wich should be stable... Don't use it

     
  • Innocent Oryema Nov 17, 2011

    Its Straight forward. Just lacks a little more futures

     
  • John Paton Nov 18, 2011

    Glad I finally read these reviews. They explain why 5 out of 6 attempts to record a CD have failed with "unknown error" - and that is just today. I have had trouble in the past and assumed that the blank CD was bad. Not to be recommended

     
  • David Nov 21, 2011

    I have used Brasero with openSuSE and it was great, but with Xubuntu itsimply doesn't work at all.

     
  • DemocritusJr Nov 23, 2011

    The good: the user interface is well integrated and intuitive.
    The bad: too many coasters.
    In this day and age, Brasero is simply inadequate.

     
  • Chirag Nov 25, 2011

    Bad

     
  • Richard Nov 25, 2011

    Dont even waste your time with this. Will not finalize the burn of a CD. One of the most frustrating apps to be included in the Ubuntu distro. Uninstall and choose a different application to burn discs.

     
  • Anastasios Kladis Nov 26, 2011

    It doesn't even eject my DVD. Many failures in burning. A real dissapointment.

     
  • Drascus Dec 3, 2011

    I don't know what the negative reviews are all about. This program has always worked reliably for me.

     
  • Avery Dec 3, 2011

    Do not use for anything ever. Cannot burn an image it created, as soon as I hit burn it just says "ejecting medium" and then displays an error when it cant burn to the disc it just spit out.

    Does not work, has never worked for me in the past.
    Pissed me off so much I made an account just to review it with a bad rating. This software should not be included with ubuntu, or anything else for that matter.

     
  • pazuzuthewise Dec 6, 2011

    Since some versions already it keeps failing to write a DVD properly. Use K3b instead (it's worth all the KDE dependencies that it installs).

     
  • fr33mat3 Dec 11, 2011

    This program does not work, tried to burn a simple 700MB movie and comes back with errors even though i have all the correct plugins etc...
    1 star for the effort..lol sorry programmer.

     
  • giamma Dec 11, 2011

    Creates unreadable discs or fails to write some file when creating data cd. Only works when burning ISO images. Don't use it.

     
  • gisho Dec 20, 2011

    just damaged another disk

     
  • Bradley James Dec 22, 2011

    Burned one cd with no problem...and then nothing but problems. Would not burn -- sat on a dialogue infinitely; had to quit and restart program over and over. It wouldn't burn a simple audio CD no matter what I tried. Thought it was me so read some reviews; this program needs serious serious work. As per another reviewers suggestion, install K3b right now.

     
  • Sushi Dec 31, 2011

    Will make more coasters than you need. It has cache & burning problems. Does not shut down properly when using "open with" in naurtilus. Do yourself a favour and install gnomebaker from the ppa. Software like this will make people want to switch back to windowz. It deserves 1/10 of a star because it's so bad.

     
  • itchy8me Jan 1, 2012

    great interface, simple and clean. Buggy burning... which makes it near to useless.

     
  • Marc Araujo Jan 4, 2012

    Not the greatest tool in the shed. Crashed too often for me. Moved to K3B, great program and works smoothly and easily.

     
  • nestor cristi Jan 8, 2012

    i've troed to make a dvd. it take 36 minutes, then it start to make " image checksum". that means 10 minutes more, then it's blocked. starting to grow up in remaing time. i've cancel it and remve it. dont even try this programm.

     
  • Nikolas Deubner Jan 11, 2012

    Tried it twice now, hangs up with the very simple job of burning an iso image to a dvd-r, in the process of calculating a checksum. Didnt give it further chances.

     
  • Luis Perez Jan 18, 2012

    It is a pretty good tool and essential if you have CD drives. Used it to burn a music CD and worked fine. Not as flashy as Nero, but if you want that you will have to pay a lot of money.

     
Ï€