• Simon Matthews Mar 25, 2012

    I have given this program many chances. This is finally the last straw. I have now replaced my burner with a brand new one and am still having huge amounts of problems. It has never worked well.

     
  • Richard Blake Mar 22, 2012

    I don't Use anything else cause I don't know any better, but I will say this, THIS PROGRAM DOES EVERYTHING AN AVERAGE PERSON WOULD USE their burner for.

     
  • Kelly Boswell Mar 13, 2012

    Will only burn one copy at a time, then must reboot to make another. Randomly won't eject disc. Always complains about needing 'plugins' that it can never find. Don't waste your time. Try something else.

     
  • gothicboy Mar 10, 2012

    After destroing several DVDs because of the [3 0C 00] Write error I switched to K3b and problem magically solved.

    I don;t Understand why Ubuntu SO ships Brasero 3.2.0 while on Brasero's site they say the stable version is 3.0.0 ....

     
  • Adscnet Mar 6, 2012

    Hangs after making multiple copies, doesn't auto eject the media after finishing the burn

     
  • aklambit Mar 6, 2012

    It did not not work in Ubuntu 11.10. Also, I saw posts in the Web that people have burning problems with 11.10 (using Brasero or other software) which did not exist in previous versions. I hope this will be solved in a future release of Ubuntu because it is a nice OS and I'm going to use it instead of Windows.

     
  • qorrow Mar 4, 2012

    Never did a successful burn with this application... too bad ....

     
  • Steve McAbee Feb 21, 2012

    I don't know why this program got such bad reviews, it worked great for me! I had to download a encryption
    tool but after that it worked flawlessly.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Danny Alcini Feb 16, 2012

    Simply drag your desired pictures, videos or files into the Brasero Data Project window, click "Burn" and in 2 hours you'll have a beautiful (and useless) drink coaster that looks remarkably like a dvd!

     
  • brian Feb 15, 2012

    Not one successfull CD or DVD burned yet. If you figure out the voodoo, please enlighten all of us. One star because it exists.

     
  • Darren Weslow Feb 8, 2012

    Had no problem with this program in 10.04/11.10 burning ISO images on cd-rw dvd-rw dvd-r and other discs. But all of a sudden now its not working to well. with New versions of Ubuntu. Stay Clear is my best advice for now.

     
  • thebigh Feb 6, 2012

    Complete rubbish. What use is a disc burner that writes nothing but corrupt data? I don't know why Canonical endorses this junk.

     
  • ross Feb 5, 2012

    always works just fine for me

     
  • Adam Normandin Feb 2, 2012

    Will say the size of the disc is what should be left over after .iso image is selected

     
  • Jade Lacosse Jan 30, 2012

    Segfaulted whilst burning, gave up on it after the 2nd or 3rd crash.

     
  • Ramsey Jan 30, 2012

    I have gotten one, maybe two working disks out of Brasero and that was back during Intrepid Ibex's run. Since then, Brasero has done nothing but ruin disks. I recommend K3b.

     
  • Froialn Irizarry Jan 28, 2012

    I've got to agree with the past comments, don't waste your time or discs with this software. It's a wonder it has 2 stars at all.

     
  • Aleksey Jan 27, 2012

    Version 2.32.1 doesn't work at all.

    1) It damaged 2 CD's;
    2) The option "Burn several copies" doesn't work.

     
  • Alex Jan 23, 2012

    Seems to run perfectly for me in 11.10 (all updates applied) shame so many people having problems maybe room for improvement like adding support for creating usb stick images

     
  • Nikolay Kucherov Jan 21, 2012

    Ive used Brasero for a quet many times. Dont know why others have so many problems with it.
    For me it works fine. Both blanking & burning works correctly. My DVD player (which is connected to the TV) playbacks music and video discs correctly and without any errors or artifacts.
    Ive encountered only one error: the Linux kernel crashes when Im trying to drag n drop files to burn them further.
    By the way, Im using XFCE desktop. Maybe it somehow affects the stability of this program to the good side.

     
  • Luis Perez Jan 18, 2012

    It is a pretty good tool and essential if you have CD drives. Used it to burn a music CD and worked fine. Not as flashy as Nero, but if you want that you will have to pay a lot of money.

     
  • Nikolas Deubner Jan 11, 2012

    Tried it twice now, hangs up with the very simple job of burning an iso image to a dvd-r, in the process of calculating a checksum. Didnt give it further chances.

     
  • nestor cristi Jan 8, 2012

    i've troed to make a dvd. it take 36 minutes, then it start to make " image checksum". that means 10 minutes more, then it's blocked. starting to grow up in remaing time. i've cancel it and remve it. dont even try this programm.

     
  • Marc Araujo Jan 4, 2012

    Not the greatest tool in the shed. Crashed too often for me. Moved to K3B, great program and works smoothly and easily.

     
  • itchy8me Jan 1, 2012

    great interface, simple and clean. Buggy burning... which makes it near to useless.

     
  • Sushi Dec 31, 2011

    Will make more coasters than you need. It has cache & burning problems. Does not shut down properly when using "open with" in naurtilus. Do yourself a favour and install gnomebaker from the ppa. Software like this will make people want to switch back to windowz. It deserves 1/10 of a star because it's so bad.

     
  • Bradley James Dec 22, 2011

    Burned one cd with no problem...and then nothing but problems. Would not burn -- sat on a dialogue infinitely; had to quit and restart program over and over. It wouldn't burn a simple audio CD no matter what I tried. Thought it was me so read some reviews; this program needs serious serious work. As per another reviewers suggestion, install K3b right now.

     
  • gisho Dec 20, 2011

    just damaged another disk

     
  • giamma Dec 11, 2011

    Creates unreadable discs or fails to write some file when creating data cd. Only works when burning ISO images. Don't use it.

     
  • fr33mat3 Dec 11, 2011

    This program does not work, tried to burn a simple 700MB movie and comes back with errors even though i have all the correct plugins etc...
    1 star for the effort..lol sorry programmer.

     
  • pazuzuthewise Dec 6, 2011

    Since some versions already it keeps failing to write a DVD properly. Use K3b instead (it's worth all the KDE dependencies that it installs).

     
  • Avery Dec 3, 2011

    Do not use for anything ever. Cannot burn an image it created, as soon as I hit burn it just says "ejecting medium" and then displays an error when it cant burn to the disc it just spit out.

    Does not work, has never worked for me in the past.
    Pissed me off so much I made an account just to review it with a bad rating. This software should not be included with ubuntu, or anything else for that matter.

     
  • Drascus Dec 3, 2011

    I don't know what the negative reviews are all about. This program has always worked reliably for me.

     
  • Anastasios Kladis Nov 26, 2011

    It doesn't even eject my DVD. Many failures in burning. A real dissapointment.

     
  • Richard Nov 25, 2011

    Dont even waste your time with this. Will not finalize the burn of a CD. One of the most frustrating apps to be included in the Ubuntu distro. Uninstall and choose a different application to burn discs.

     
  • Chirag Nov 25, 2011

    Bad

     
  • DemocritusJr Nov 23, 2011

    The good: the user interface is well integrated and intuitive.
    The bad: too many coasters.
    In this day and age, Brasero is simply inadequate.

     
  • David Nov 21, 2011

    I have used Brasero with openSuSE and it was great, but with Xubuntu itsimply doesn't work at all.

     
  • John Paton Nov 18, 2011

    Glad I finally read these reviews. They explain why 5 out of 6 attempts to record a CD have failed with "unknown error" - and that is just today. I have had trouble in the past and assumed that the blank CD was bad. Not to be recommended

     
  • Innocent Oryema Nov 17, 2011

    Its Straight forward. Just lacks a little more futures

     
  • John C Nov 16, 2011

    K3b is SO much better and more stable.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Demetrius Papademetriou Nov 13, 2011

    If you are looking for a CD/DVD burner to replace Gnomebaker in Ubuntu 11.10 do not bother with this one. It is a waste of time

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • jimbelay Nov 13, 2011

    It produces unreables dics a vast majority of the time. I'm sorry to say that this application should be avoided and replace by an other but wich one? For the moment I can't burn... It's a bad trip. I am really disapointed by the quality of this program wich should be stable... Don't use it

     
  • Tim Farnum Nov 11, 2011

    Previous versions of Brasero worked OK. This one is awful. What happened? I'm switching back to K3b. I don't like adding in all those KDE libraries and processes to my mainly Gnome system, but it's better to have things work.

     
  • Sinan Cetin Nov 8, 2011

    It is best to create unreadable junk; there a lot of down sides, try something else if you do want your disks reliable

     
  • Akira Nov 7, 2011

    It does the job of buring in the most minimal gui fashion. I do not use this because the limitations are frustrating. As many suggest K3B is the pimp'n tool you'll want instead.

     
  • Marko Niketi? Nov 7, 2011

    Love its simplicity, but what to do with program that is unreliable most of the time?!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Benjamin Lee Erickson Nov 5, 2011

    I'm pretty disappointed with Brasero as a default application. It's now ruined 9 out of 10 cds burned with it.

     
  • dustin Nov 5, 2011

    I am using a default ubuntu 11.10 install, and am getting errors while burning a video dvd. I googled the issue, and many people are having the same problem.

     
  • Ryan Sharp Nov 5, 2011

    Not only does it fail to load most of the time, it doesn't even allow me to select the Disc I want to burn to. It shows a blank drop-down menu, which after clicking, shows a buggy appearance of my Disc, which I am unable to click.

    For goodness sake.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • dust1nb3ss@yahoo.com Nov 2, 2011

    Not A good Burner Or Ripper. Use K3B Much more reliable.

     
  • Ajith K Punnoose Oct 29, 2011

    This thing broke all the CDs and DVDs I have tried to burn :P

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • J. Matthew Beck Oct 27, 2011

    Overspins drive, throwing power calibration errors. Sometimes magically works when specifically told to use 4x on a dvd, then other times only 2x works, yet other times won't burn at all. Other linux packages work flawlessly so it isn't the drive.

    My advice is to uninstall this ASAP. How it became the default burner in Ubuntu I don't know.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Igor Dove?er Oct 25, 2011

    I remove this Brasero Disc Burner from every Ubuntu distribution after installation.
    Don't like this program, unreadable discs in previous versions, also now included with Ubuntu 11.10 the same story.

    So Brasero Disc Burner is going to Trash/Uninstall/Remove.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Roshan Kamath Oct 25, 2011

    For a 'default' application Brasero is really buggy.
    During the transition from Ubuntu 11.04 to 11.10 - I had problems with burning both CDs and DVDs with Brasero. Now, even after the official release of 11.10, Brasero fails to burn DVDs (complains about 'power calibration full'). I've since moved to Xfburn and it does a far better job.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Majal Abe Mirasol Oct 24, 2011

    Still breaks about half of the CDs during burn. Two stars because "sometimes" it works. Can K3b instead be used as the default burning program for Ubuntu?

     
  • Dant Ashton Oct 23, 2011

    I'm sorry to say that this application should be avoided...actually, removed on sight; even at the most careful of settings it will ruin disks, sometimes it will even try to burn yet another copy (and another, and another) onto your freshly burned disk, overlapping each other.

    Honestly, destroy this application; it leaves a foul taste in my machines mouth.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • yanglifu90 Oct 21, 2011

    I was ripping an audio CD but found it took 10 minites to tranfer 1 Megabyte of data. It is frustrating.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Jesse Bright Oct 20, 2011

    Not sure why this program is still the default, it produces unreadable discs a vast majority of the time. Do yourself a favor and install K3b instead.

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

     
  • Mark Lines Oct 19, 2011

    I have had nothing but bad luck with this program. From it not releasing the DVD drive after a burn to creating unreadable disks. In a phrase, not reliable for "Prime Time" I can not reccomend it at this time.

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful

     
  • Erick Araya Oct 9, 2011

    I tried to burn several DVD and CD s and always had to burn them twice because the first time always crashed the discs just starting to burn them. I rather other software than this one for example K3b

     
  • njko Oct 9, 2011

    It's a CD/DVD burning software that could have fantastic features but it always fails to burn. Absolutely useless.

     
  • Giulio Collura Oct 5, 2011

    Don't use this program. It is installed by default and it *should* work, but in truth reality it fails to burn your discs a lot of time.
    It's a really bad program, avoid that.

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful

     
  • Michael Myles Oct 4, 2011

    Never works..I still have to boot into windows 7 to burn dvd

     
  • Vidmantas Oct 3, 2011

    Tried to burn DVD disc two hours. Result - wasted 1 DVD disc and bad mood.

    Luckily found K3b DVD/CD burning app. It worked fine. Really good application.

     
  • Si Dedman Oct 1, 2011

    Stops after 3mb. Rubbish.

     
  • Mufaddal Kabul Oct 1, 2011

    It's not for a newbie.

     
  • JMW Sep 27, 2011

    I am surprised at how bad this software is. Never seems to work right. It tells you it wrote a disk successfully when it did not and vice versa. Very strange.

    Disc burning has been around for years (5 to 10?) now. I don't understand why they are having such a hard time producing a working product. Going to try k3b. Hope it is better.

     
  • asadullah Sep 11, 2011

    Wish I could give it negative stars done ruined several one time right to disc. Can't believe it's the default really go with k3b if your new

     
  • Ahmed Adel Sep 8, 2011

    Crashes frequently. I suggest using k3b instead of this.

     
  • dryphi Sep 3, 2011

    I like it, it does what I need it to, but I would like the option to write an ISO image to a USB flash drive. I can "burn" only to CD / DVD. Well, what if I simply want to put an image on a flash drive? Sounds simple enough, right? Yet I cant find a single program that allows me to do this.

     
  • Ramsey Sep 2, 2011

    The interface is really the only good point. I ruin four out of five discs I use with this program. I've run it on multiple computers and the result is always the same. I want to like Brasero but it just doesn't work as advertised.

     
  • Peter Neubauer Sep 1, 2011

    Ruined 3 of 3 discs. Only produced corrupted data. As suggested by many other users, Ill try K3B instead. Wondering why this buggy software is bundled with Ubuntu.

     
  • Doug Walrath Aug 30, 2011

    Works for me, I've burned CDs with this and it worked just fine.

     
  • MaXiMuS Aug 30, 2011

    )= Another destroyed disk...3 years of Brasero and far too many failed writes...Should have installed K3b long ago..so much more reliable.

     
  • Deven Abhyankar Aug 28, 2011

    Beautiful and simple Disc burner, Does everything perfectly, I love its simple looks yet 100% efficient performance.

     
  • Darren Weslow Aug 21, 2011

    It works ok to burn the iso images,but will agree that this application ruins disks often.

     
  • Christopher Brown Aug 17, 2011

    Step 1. Insert blank CD
    Step 2. Burn using Brasero
    Step 3. Throw away freshly burned coaster
    Note: If you enjoy wasting your time burning coasters, go to step 1 and repeat.

    If not...

    Step 4. Uninstall Brasero
    Step 5. Install GnomeBaker
    Step 6. Burn CD

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • James Aug 11, 2011

    Never totally successful. Poor burning quality. Wastes disks! Try K3b - more reliable.

     
  • Saie Jul 29, 2011

    its almost replaced nero for me.
    Only bug I found so far is that when I copy a disc.. it does the copying, then brasero ejects the disc and closes as if it has copied.. but it hasn't. Wth?

     
  • Matthew Duffy Jul 21, 2011

    Other reviews for this software read, "Rock Solid Burning App", I disagree. I had many errors and wasted several blanks. I thought I had it when I specified burning speeds, but even then I went one for three successfully created.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Green Growbot Jul 19, 2011

    I thought Brasero was a great program for the past year or so, BUT im telling you now that if yoou want an easier way to do DVD authoring...use "DeVeDe" and "xfburn". DeVeDe will write your files to iso and if you were using Brasero just for img burning, you need to make a left turn and give XFburn a shot! Incredibly simple and can even fix rewritables for use.

     
  • Mike Jul 16, 2011

    OK it is not as polished as k3b, but has so far performed well

     
  • Kruno Jul 14, 2011

    This one didn't do it for me. I tried to burn a simple folder with some photos and it ruined like 4-5 empty CD's. I tried with lowering the speed of writing but no luck, so I finally removed it.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Caleb Blackmore Jul 1, 2011

    Absolutely rubbish. Filled with bugs and never does what it's supposed to. Always crashes.

    My advice, use K3B instead, it's much better in my opinion.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Wendy Collings Jun 29, 2011

    Used Brasero for a couple of years without problems; upgraded to the latest version this month and decided to ditch it when it stiffed 2 out of 3 data CDs. (I think the 3rd one worked because I stopped it before it did the checksum process.) Tried K3B instead and have had no problems with that.

     
  • Jaime Rodriguez Jun 27, 2011

    It used to work perfectly, now it is destroying cd's like they are out of style.

    When it worked it does a great job. I hope the dev's fix this excellent piece of software.

     
  • Zorbas Jun 26, 2011

    Messed up a few blank discs and made me really angry! Since then I replace it with GnomeBaker on every fresh install.

     
  • dinesh Jun 25, 2011

    I lost several blank CDs because of this buggy software. Now installed GnomeBaker. This should not be there in the default installation.

     
  • Michael Clements Jun 18, 2011

    It's got a nice simple interface but it destroys more discs than it burns. This is with Taiyo Yudens on a Plextor drive that burns with 100% accuracy using other apps.

     
  • kavith k george Jun 17, 2011

    i have write many image file.. no problem found

     
  • Dinesh Dutt Jun 6, 2011

    This is one of the buggiest programs out there. When I used the versions shipped with earlier versions of Ubuntu, it fairly consistently resulted in corrupted CD/DVD.

    Today is the first time I tried it in 11.04. I stuck a DVD+RW disc with data on it in one drive and a blank DVD+R disc in another drive. Nautilus prompted me to open Brasero and I agreed. I copied the data from the DVD+RW disc into this blank one and said burn. Brasero overwrote the DVD+RW disc and created a unusable disc. I lost data!!!

    k3b on the other hand did the right thing. It prompted me with the correct disc indicating that this was blank compared to the DVD+RW. I've always had great results with k3b. k3b and digikam are 2 KDE programs that easily outshine the gnome equivalents.

     
  • sashi Jun 1, 2011

    Nice n simple interface but has bugs. i lost many dvds while writing.

     
  • Ashwin Haridas May 30, 2011

    Always been a headache inducing software in my experience. It has wasted an endless amount of CDs and DVDs. And all this over three different computers. k3b worked fine on all three. Even when Brasero does burn it burns slower than k3b. This is all my personal experience. Yours might be different.
    But I'm a fan of the simple UI. I just wish it wasn't so buggy and slow.

     
  • SlickMcRunfast May 27, 2011

    Brasero never completed a burn due to a checksum error. I installed GnomeBaker and it worked right away. I even manually ran md5sum on all files and everything is fine. My guess is that Brasero doesn't like my burner.

     
  • Saman Sadeghi May 24, 2011

    I've burned a couple of .iso files to both CD and DVD media without issue. Brasero has done what I've asked!

     
  • abrianb May 14, 2011

    Wow buggy, slow and thats all the good points

     
  • Adeer May 11, 2011

    It easily gets the job done. Just perfect for people with less knowledge about computers.

     
  • nolatux May 6, 2011

    Tried burning Fedora DVD iso. After 2 spent discs, I'm going to give K3b a try.

     
  • lemio May 2, 2011

    Works nice and fast. No difficult options, only burning... without having troubles

     
π