• sarton85 Apr 5, 2011

    This is a good program to manage and install printers. Works straight forward and detects and installs supported printers automatically

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • choejor May 5, 2011

    It seems to be working well with many printers but with HP 1008 printers it is a problem. It prints few pages and then stops for ever.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Julio Prada May 5, 2011

    It would be good to include a pdf (file) printer by default.
    That way all people could get a pdf from any application with no effort at all.
    I install it by typing:
    sudo apt-get install cups-pdf
    in a terminal.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Travis Shivers May 6, 2011

    I have a large number of printers in my possession. When I first plugged in my main printer(Brother HL2140), it recognized it right away and I was printing documents in seconds. This also recognized my Epson all-in-one printer(CX7400) right away also.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Robert Hawk May 23, 2011

    I have a Brother HL-5280DW. The generic driver seems to work just fine.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Kirk Ellsworth Dec 3, 2011

    I don't have a printer, nor do I plan on getting one, but when I try to remove this program, it states that I will no longer be able to recieve updates for the Ubuntu Desktop System. What does printing have to do with updates or the desktop?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Adam KG Jun 22, 2011

    printer detected correctly (Brother HL-2140 series) but only prints multiple blank pages from office applications - or even when 'print test page' button is selected.

     
  • Darrian Hudman Nov 26, 2011

    This software is the pits. I cannot get it to download any of the my printers. I have a Canon MP250 and Lexmark 730. This software package is trash and would not recommend it to anyone.

     
  • Roger Dec 30, 2011

    This is very good, systematic, methodical and "Do A, then Do B, then Do C" style of interface.

    The program works well.

    I'd like to see it tidied up a bit so that you can DELETE the jobs in the print cue, instead of having to select them, and then cancel them then confirm that you are cancelling them and then delete them and confirm that you are deleting them.

    Things like that.

    It gets a bit frustrating when you have dirty connections in the USB cable (new situation) and your going nuts over the screwey printing and you don't know whether it's the OS, the software, the converter into the printing image etc., etc., and it's a start at 8pm job and your still at it at 5am... and there have been 40 or 50 misprints and lost of struggling with configuration settings etc..

    This is when the interface becomes really frustratingly stupid to use.

    This mindset hearkens back to my Microsoft days where one had to jump a few links fast through the drill down menus to stop the printer, and the only "active" button was "CANCEL", and the only reason for getting to the screen was to cancel it, and then you had to confirm that you actually wanted to cancel it.

    This is a bit like that.

    It needs to be more intuitive, and "BIG kill switch" instead of lots of little switches and confirmations.

    Stil it's pretty good though - but like all software, it needs to be put through the "Hanson 1000 step Psychosis Test" - that if you have to repeat the same function or range of functions 1000 times in a row, to achive a certain result, by the end of it you will either be happy with the way it operates, or the nutty time wasting bullshit will induce psychosis - and the only things you can think about are a number of significant steps to eliminate problems and to make the process streamlined and time and resource efficient.

    It's pretty good tho, just needs improving in the interface department.

     
  • Glenn Leech Jan 5, 2012

    Dont have to think about it it just works

     
  • favi Mar 11, 2012

    I have installed the PPD file for my Kyocera FS-3140MFP+
    But every time i try to start printing, its show me error message "Your toner cartrige is empry". Overwise the Windows PC's in the same network printing to this Kyosera normally, and toner now 43% left
    But i even can't remove checking toner option ((

     
π