• hitaisin Mar 4, 2011

    with gstreamer progress totem became really FAST and EASY player.

    in past I used VLC, because of 5.1 audio support and speed, but now totem-gstreamer can play all my videos

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Sinjid May 13, 2011

    I like this application. . .for some things. Mostly just streaming xvids online. It is a very useful tool for that.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Israel Dahl May 31, 2011

    Good for simple tasks. VLC is overall MUCH better.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • pazuzuthewise Jun 13, 2011

    It plays (if necessary gstreamer plugins are installed) the video files, but that's about it. Subtitle support is limited, no video/audio effects (luminosity, contrast, sound equaliser).
    Both vlc and smplayer are better.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • mick Jul 3, 2011

    Yo can't have subtitles if you forward or backward movie. If you try to switch them on/off in options whole system my crash.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • bb Aug 9, 2011

    lightweight and works without video
    main + is that you can select a few video files and select and works as a playlist

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Darren Weslow Aug 23, 2011

    Works well as a movie player when the right codecs are installed, User friendly interface. crashes when trying to play youtube media.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • William Houser Sep 15, 2011

    I have to admit, that I have whole heartedly jumped on the VLC bandwagon. I have to say this is the best player for watching movies saved in ISO format. The only problem is that they have to be mounted first; not a huge problem, but it was one overcome by VLC. What made me switch back was the problems I've been having with the audio, and video lineing up, and the choppiness of the video. I run a Sony Vaio, with a high end video card, so I don't think that was the problem

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • CaptSaltyJack Sep 28, 2011

    It's fair, gets the job done, but is pretty blah. Plus, one day it just stopped working. I try to play an mp3 and there's no sound, yet Banshee works fine.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • DAMFOOL Oct 5, 2011

    Lacks Some Important features of most media player now a days available.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Marcusklaas Oct 14, 2011

    Guess it's a decent player, does what it has to do. Few things come to mind that VLC does better, though.
    VLC has better performance. On less powerful hardware you can tell VLC plays the video more smoothly.
    VLC supports more codecs out of the box.
    VLC prevents the screen from getting locked after a while. Movie Player does not do this.
    I seriously do not understand why VLC is not the default player for Ubuntu. In my opinion, it is superior over Movie Player.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Asd Qwertyson Apr 8, 2011

    The fact that adding a subtitle restarts the video is a deal breaker for me. Imagine having 6 different subs to try out...
    The GUI is nice and clean tho. Shame I can't use it.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

     
  • Brian Machado Mar 8, 2011

    Its very good but I still believe that VLC is much better. VLC can handle any video out of the box.

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

     
  • Omer Akram Feb 13, 2011

    This is simply the best media player, lightweight, no chrome and fast

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

     
  • Chris Greene Apr 17, 2011

    I use both this and VLC, and I'm impressed with both. I haven't had a problem loading any videos with this one and it's never crashed, so it gets 5 stars as well.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Jonas Lindeløv Apr 30, 2011

    A decent movie player that will play the majority of your videos. Unfortunately it is a bit slow to start up and it does not play everything out of the box. In addition, I think the interface has too many elements up front, when you really just want to see the movie. (I rate it compared with VLC, which I use).

    8 of 11 people found this review helpful

     
  • Javier Ivona May 1, 2011

    This player is so lightweight you'll be surprised, and it's so powerful you'll wonder how they got it.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful

     
  • step21 Apr 29, 2011

    .

    1 of 11 people found this review helpful

     
  • d1684 Jun 15, 2011

    Barely works when it works. Plays everything choppy and has lines in the picture. Mplayer/Kplayer is really all you need to play any video or audio file, so why have a zillion different media players when you don't need them???

     
  • sarton85 Apr 5, 2011

    A simple, straight forward movie player. Playing any video out of the box with gstreamer plugins. The interface is more easy compared with VLC, though it has included all the basic functionalities you would need.

     
  • ubuntuist Apr 13, 2011

    .srt subtitles load all right when you start the divx/xvid video, but difficult to get them back on the screen if you skip the video forward.

    This problem has persisted for me even after distro upgrades.

     
  • Faisal Hakami Apr 30, 2011

    Totem is a great movie player but the UI is bloated, cluttered and ugly.. It has so much wasted space in my 10'' netbook.. The functionality is good though,, it works with almost all type of videos if you have the correct codecs installed..

     
  • SunFreak May 1, 2011

    No, this is no hardware acceleration!!!

     
  • spayk May 1, 2011

    It's very simple, just the way I like it.

     
  • Igor Mapelli May 1, 2011

    Totem (Movie Player) is improving but still VLC is the winner. It works fine with video/audio files but I still have problems when I use DVDs, the video is not fluid (ok, perhaps my laptop is not brand new and powerful but with VLC DVDs work perfectly). There is need to improve its performance.

     
  • Branimir Kolar May 3, 2011

    Although I also noticed subtitling problems overall I like it. Its fast and simple. For something more advanced I would use vlc.

     
  • Peter J Schoen May 5, 2011

    A very good Player that almost plays Full High Definition "AVCHD" Videos almost as good as Microsoft's Windows does with a lower spec system..

     
  • Ademar Alves de Oliveira May 6, 2011

    This program aims to be a player, and does it with extreme efficiency!

     
  • Rytis May 13, 2011

    It's simple and easy to use. All you need is here.

     
  • Jamie Pietarinen May 15, 2011

    This is a great video player if you are looking to just play videos.

    It could use some work to keep track of all my movies and allow me to purchase/rent movies. I'd like it to be similar to a music player.

     
  • Dexter Smith May 27, 2011

    A very good media player for quick music listening and very good for watching videos.

     
  • Daniel Setiyawan Jun 21, 2011

    No sound when I play video or Mp3 with Totem, but just fine with banshee, I don't know may be Totem does not fit with my hardware (Acer Aspire One).

     
  • Noel Klebaum Jul 5, 2011

    As a Linux beginner, I downloaded Ubuntu (Natty Narwhal) and was pleasantly surprised at how intuitive and generally good the OS is. Movie Player, which is part of the distribution, would not play movies. After trying a couple other players (VLC, etc.), and trying to figure out how to install additional plugins that might enable Movie Player to actually play movies on DVD, I gave up and bought a copy of Fluendo DVD Player. Unlike Movie Player, it just plays.

     
  • JamesHey Jul 17, 2011

    Simply brilliant, what it lacks in complexity it more than makes up for in reliability, truly a low-fuss dream

     
  • Saie Jul 29, 2011

    you know what this media player reminds you off.... windows 98 ... windows media player 1... for gods sake would it be so hard to make it look a bit better and be less screen space consuming.
    Goodness sake windows media player 7 looked more charming then this.
    I don't care if it plays every damn codec available, it needs to revolutionise dvd playback and etc.. im sorry windows is just doing a much better job with windvd, powerdvd AND EVEN windows media player.

     
  • David Feng Aug 5, 2011

    lightweight, no extra useless feature, it's just pretty good!
    It just need a control in gnome's sound panel.

     
  • Owais Aug 22, 2011

    It is very fine movie player. I think better than VLC player, lightweight and fast!!!

     
  • KnightStalker Sep 23, 2011

    Mix this player with ubuntu-restricted-extras,and it'll play EVERYTHING.Compared to Windows Media Player,Its more simplistic,but simply working Movie Player.just as it should be.
    However,Version 2.3.x to 3.0.1 doesn't seem to have much new UI elements.

     
  • Giulio Tani Oct 31, 2011

    Ottimo Programma riproduce di tutto !!
    Leggero e veloce !!
    Se avete problemi di riproduzione con qualche formato prima di disperare installate per sicurezza tutti gli add-ons, tanto non sono eccessivamente grandi.

     
  • Akira Nov 7, 2011

    Great, very reliable, never had any issues, not very flashy as eye candy is concerned. Who cares....

     
  • Miss Norton Nov 25, 2011

    Works just great, highly reliable. I know what people are talking about with the fact that subtitles restart the movie, but would you want to miss any dialogue if you need subtitles?

     
  • takis Dec 28, 2011

    It's an ok player. I 've used VLC in windows for like, forever! Tried it in ubuntu as well! It's great! I recommend it! Way better than Movie Player!

     
  • Christian Jabasa Jan 23, 2012

    Totem provides easy playback for media files... It's all that I use it for! So more feature please!

     
  • Roy Jan 25, 2012

    Lags, .... not good.

     
  • Alex Feb 3, 2012

    excellent player does all vids with Restricted codecs I find it much simiplar than VLC and supports my eluminated touch pad (handy for the dark good old acer)

     
  • karthik s rao Feb 4, 2012

    it is faster than many other video players.

     
  • Viktor Sævarsson Feb 8, 2012

    When i play lets say a movie it always fast forwards the movie but the sound is on normal speed even tough i never fastforwarded and then i have to wait for the sound to cetch up and i dont really want that. Sorry for my bad english.

     
  • Keith Drummond Feb 15, 2012

    I have never needed any other movie player then the default. I have tried out VLC and Mplayer, but the last two release cycles I never bothered installing either, Movie Player meets all my requirement of sticking in a DVD and being able to watch it!

     
  • RevStoningpot Feb 16, 2012

    I can't play anything but my home burned stuff and when i play those the audio come out choppy

     
Ï€