• Rob T Firefly Mar 18, 2012

    This proprietary service does not belong in a clean Ubuntu install.

    What's worse, after I uninstalled the ubuntu One client, Ubuntu Update Manager snuck it back in with the recommended updates. BAD form, Canonical. Don't try to pull a Microsoft on me.

     
  • Leonid Mironov Mar 12, 2012

    Easy-to-use software but unrelyable synchronyzation. I have installed U1 on desktop with Ubuntu and Android 2.3.3 on my phone after synchronyzation files with similair names just disappeared. U1 just let me down in the most important moment when I was needed updated versions of documents =(

     
  • Rock Field Mar 2, 2012

    Earler, in Ubuntu 10.04 it works very bad, but now I use 11.10 and see U1 grew up so much!
    Now I can enjoy fast syncing - just put file and U1 starts sync.
    I rate this for 5!

     
  • Justin Thomas Berger Feb 22, 2012

    Unreliable was constantly diconnecting. Repeatedly lost files if multiple machines tried to sync at the same time.

    UI is acceptable as long as it retains a connection, though some folders seem to never get the message that they are up-to-date.

    The interface for windows constantly slows down my whole computer. Not just for a few minutes during a sync, but constantly. Have not tried any other platforms yet.

    Storage is cheap. I like how easy it is to use. If it played nice with windows and synced faster, it would be my pick.

     
  • greylinux Feb 19, 2012

    Not good, if you log in and sync your folder, that's it you'll never log out for other users to log in. Very annoying bug.

     
  • Kevin Feb 15, 2012

    Great, but I agree with Maurice that it shouldn't be shipped with Ubuntu by default, unless the service is made open source as well.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • JC Feb 13, 2012

    Needs to be more consistent between the different platforms.
    It keeps syncing .ini files from my windows partition

     
  • Thanasi Feb 12, 2012

    Have had the same error for 4 months! Can't sync my UbuntuOne because of it. "Value could not be retrieved. (DBus Exception..)"??? Please fix this! I want to actually USE the cloud that was given to me. I can't comment positively until this has been fixed. The updates haven't helped either.

     
  • Hilmi Erdem KEREN Feb 3, 2012

    First of all, I have to say that, i realy like the idea about "ubuntu one".

    The functionality about android sync is also very nice. I take a photo and wala! it is in my computer..

    Opposed to other comments, ubuntu one can move my files to cloud with any size. And it doesn't take many time to do that.

     
  • Suraj Jan 31, 2012

    Syn is not reliable on ubuntu OS else good on Android and on web.
    But 5 GB free cloud space which is excellent.

     
  • Chris Brown Jan 24, 2012

    The installer just hangs at a full progress bar and says "Ubuntu One is installing..." This is the third time in the past year that I've tried to use U1 and this is not only the wort failure to date, but it's looking like it's the the third time I'll be disappointed.

     
  • Anthony Street Jan 22, 2012

    Works like a charm. It's does what it promises, though it's slow and I'm putting that down to data centres which I'm sure Canonical has very few and are centralised in Europe.

     
  • Luis Perez Jan 18, 2012

    I am glad to see that Linux has it's own cloud services because box.net and sugarsync don't have apps for Linux. This works great and everything you put in the synced folder is backed up in the cloud quickly. You don't even notice when files are being uploaded. I can also access these files on my Android phone.

     
  • Raju Maisnam Jan 13, 2012

    Lost 800mb of my important files because of its unreliable syncing.

     
  • Lee Mason Jan 10, 2012

    Unfortunately I have to agree with other reviewers. I find the feature list brilliant, the UI perfectly usable and the free space impressive...however, the synchronisation is slow and unreliable - stuttering between 'connected' and 'disconnected'. Once it does manage to remain connected for any length of time, the actual syncing is very slow to complete when compared to Dropbox.

    I want Ubuntu One to work and look forward to when I can rely on it - but that day is still a few updates off I'm afraid.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Alex Jan 9, 2012

    Like the idea certainly does work but can be a bit slow and unrealible dissconnecting and needing restart of service to start again some work needed before i buy the 20gb

     
  • Rick Born Jan 8, 2012

    I want to like this, I really do but it simply does not work correctly. For syncing small files, it is fine and uploading using the web site seems to be fine but files larger than a couple of meg rarely transfer, they just try over and over again. I only have 40 meg worth of files one the site and some have not successfully made it to all of my PCs yet.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Adetayo Ajilogba Jan 7, 2012

    I agree with the last reviewers Daniel and Thomas. It is not bug free yet. I paid for extended storage since almost over a year without being able to sync it.

     
  • Prodigal Jan 4, 2012

    As per other reviews, it cannot sync ... it took two days for a single 170 KB file to sync ... Imagine how bad it would be if you actually had valued data to sync? It is virtually useless ...

    It is like trying to use tuxpaint instead of gimp etc..

    Come Ubuntu team ... this is really very poor and a black eye to an otherwise great project.

     
  • shubham Dec 31, 2011

    very good service and software

     
  • Tom Hood Dec 30, 2011

    I was using my own SVN server as my file-sync solution. When I ran across Ubuntu One, I thought it looked great. I moved everything over to it all at once. And at first, it seemed pretty good.

    Here I am not even a week later and I'm moving everything over to dropbox. Why? Ubuntu One won't sync reliably. It syncs when it damn well feels like it. There is no button to force a sync. There is no way to tell when it will get around to syncing something. You just sort of chuck files into your Ubuntu One folders and wait... Sometimes for hours.

    I've tried the work-arounds (disconnect/reconnect to force a sync). They work. Sometimes.

    Bottom line: This is a great tool in concept, but Ubuntu One's execution is totally unreliable. I *need* to be able to depend on my stuff getting synced - the same day... Without prodding.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Radu Bogoevici Dec 23, 2011

    I've tried to use it on 11.04 and 11.10: it's veeeery slow (and only if it's working, you have to do a reboot to start the service again). Also it ignores the bandwidth limits... The worst thing is that sometimes it doesn't upload/download anything, but the bandwidth is taken.

     
  • Juan Dec 18, 2011

    very good!! thank

     
  • Samuel Greenway Dec 13, 2011

    Unreliable, If it syncs, it is very slow. I have tried troubleshooting this for months now. Finally after needing a solution, I downloaded Dropbox. I had Dropbox up and syncing on my Desktop, my Tablet, and my Cell phone perfectly within 20 mins.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Lorick Dec 9, 2011

    I have had no issues with Ubuntu One. It syncs just fine and works great, backs up my system for me automatically. The GUI for the client is easy to navigate and everything is right there with the single sign on.

     
  • Gonzalo Delfino Nov 25, 2011

    Great service with a lot for improve!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Tomas Nov 20, 2011

    Feature list is quite impressive, and offers more/cheaper storage than other popular alternatives, however suffers from slow unreliable synchronization, lack of versioning, questionable security and uncomfortable web interface.

    I try it in every new release but come back to dropbox everytime.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Maurice Oct 18, 2011

    Only the client is open source. It is meant to be used with an commercial closed source service. Should not be included in a clean Ubuntu installation.

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

     
  • Daniel Clem Oct 15, 2011

    I Love the concept, it give you 5GB free to start out with and the Storage packages you can add on are very reasonably priced, but the syncing is UNRELIABLE. It syncs VERY slowly and keeps becoming disconnected and won't reconnect until I restart. These issues have been present for the past 3 releases of Ubuntu. Actually the first one was more reliable, still very slow, but syncing and connection was consistant.

    Please fix the reliability issues or I can never really recommend this to anyone, much less a Windows user.

    20 of 21 people found this review helpful

     
  • Jamesi Oct 15, 2011

    Not required

    2 of 8 people found this review helpful

     
  • mercedes Oct 13, 2011

    good

     
π