• Brandon Apr 30, 2011

    This GTK+ Windows Manager truly is my favourite openGL Window Manager, at least its lightweight.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

     
  • Mateosan May 1, 2011

    Compiz is really sweet. Unfortunately the unity interface doesn't support many of it's features. I've been using compiz since 2008 and love the effects. Unity is alright, but it'll be much better when they can get full support for compiz back.

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

     
  • Javier Ivona May 1, 2011

    The effects Compiz can deploy on the screen are even mind-blowing at times. It seems to be this is better (visually) than Mac OS X

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

     
  • Arturo Garcia May 13, 2011

    Well I just switched over from windows to linux. unity 11.04 was my first distro but i changed it to gnome cuz unity sux. and compiz isnt all completely installed. ive tried to install all of it but i guess as people say 11.04 isnt gona let compiz fully work. what a bummer

    canonical need to do something about this asap/
    and please.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Matthew Benson May 14, 2011

    It worked fantastic before when I had Maverick, but with Natty, it is glitchy, unstable, and misses a lot of features. For example, X11 occasionally locks up while I'm changing settings on ccsm.

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

     
  • Duncan de Wet May 15, 2011

    Compiz is the best application out there. Works flawlessly - no lag with a 1.2GHz CPU and 4GB RAM. All the features are amazing. Try compiz-fusion-plugins-extra for some more effects. 5/5 on Acer Aspire 5534.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Shawn Ruse May 26, 2011

    I have an ATI graphics card and had to do a little tweaking in my settings for Compiz to work correctly. Though I do have to restart Unity every time I change something in Compiz. The bar gets all messed up.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • tommy johnson Jun 5, 2011

    i love the new unity interface i love everything about linux i cant belive i ever used windows if your conssidering this dont hesitate!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Deven Abhyankar Aug 28, 2011

    Compiz is what inspired me to move to the world of linux, i m very thankful now that i m using it, I love the stunning beautiful water, fire, looks, everything works so superb.
    People are so suprised looking at my linux and its superb effect they using windows and even with windows 7 they dont have those effects.
    Everyone please use this to have stunning effects to dazzle everyone around.
    Must have application in my view

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Cody Smith Jan 27, 2012

    Works like it should, as was said, you have to put effort into it, and know what you are doing, just what I like in an app or program or library.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Anjana E M May 1, 2011

    compiz is not working in new version(11.4), first i updated to new version, then i installed new verstion, still it is not working.

    17 of 19 people found this review helpful

     
  • WILLIE WALLACE Nov 30, 2011

    this works well on all ubuntu! im on oneric now and got cube and all!! great app!!!!! for the ones complaining, look it up, it works putin some effort! geez you complainers should go back to windows lol jkjk, secret is to dissable unity in compiz first! then enable cube 3d ect..... then re enable unity! be sure you change options to 4,1,1 in general settings/desktop size first

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

     
  • Derrek Aug 24, 2011

    I wondered why Compiz didn't work. Its not Compiz, its that darn narwhal! Don't use Natty 11.04 unless you MUST have the latest version. Unity is poopy, and I miss my Compiz!

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

     
  • Fejodor Aug 31, 2011

    Looks very nice and is highly configurable. Due to its great visual effects it is quite resource-hungry. This is definitly for people, who like it a little fancy.

    Setting it up with a window decorator could be a little easier.

    Thanks to everyone involved!

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Danny Reiser Jun 11, 2011

    Not always stable, but still, one of the coolest window managers you can find, make sure to download CompizConfig settings manager (ccsm) so you can try all the cool stuff...

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Mike Jul 16, 2011

    Works fine on my 11.04 system

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Alan Grimes Dec 11, 2011

    far too slow to be usable on an eeepc. Just awful and sanctimonious. FVWM is good, twm gets the job done, kde3 was pretty good but went away. ARGH!!! Can I give this 0 stars?

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Mac13k Nov 22, 2011

    I wish I had read the reviews before I installed this junk. It broke my 11.10 unity. Terrible experience.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • naresh pathipati Nov 23, 2011

    crashes d entire window .
    causes problem in opening d window.
    every time u open ur browser title bar crashes.
    it tends to mess up d entire system
    IT DOES NOT WORK WORK IN ONEIRIC.

    1 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • sniper.338 Nov 11, 2011

    Compiz is the best!

     
  • DavidBaucum May 3, 2011

    A great windows manager. I'm very glad Canonical hired on the maintainer to ensure Compiz has a long life, and the developer can devote all of his resources at the project.

     
  • efecan Jun 6, 2011

    Sometimes it bugs the system and break the window decoration. But it's awesome.

     
  • Tim Nov 30, 2011

    Probably the coolest visual effects on any desktop environment.

     
  • Ruslan88 Dec 17, 2011

    This is an excellent manager, and I really do not want to go to unity. But perhaps the reality is that the best solution for all of us will go to unity or choose a different distribution.

     
  • madhusudhan Jan 26, 2012

    i lost the layout of all the windows and i have sharp edges with no minimize, maximize and full screen options as i was playing with compiz settings. so be careful if you are playing with it.! :)

     
  • Carl Canova Mar 23, 2012

    Here is an exellent guide to install and configure the cube-function.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CompositeManager#Cube_And_Effects_for_Ubuntu.2C_Xubuntu.2C_Lubuntu.2C_Kubuntu_and_Edubuntu_in_release_10.04.2C_10.10.2C_11.04_and_11.10
    Just follow the guide to the letter and your'e spinning the cube in no-time =)

     
π