• Nicholas Christian Langkjr Ipsen Jan 28, 2011

    What can I say? This is an awesome, lightweight archive manager, capable of handling every single archive ever created thanks to its many plugins. A must-have for any desktop user.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Michael Terry Jan 28, 2011

    Has support for basically everything, is simple to use, and well integrated. My only complaint is that I've seen it crash a few times, especially if I'm interacting with nested archives.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Brett Cornwall Jan 31, 2011

    It brings all compression formats into one neat little program. Absolutely sublime. It'll compress and uncompress anything (so long as you have the proper addons installed!)

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Dave Morley Feb 4, 2011

    Great application for simply, graphically, uncompressing most formats. If you install 7zip too it will cover most of the missing ones too.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Feb 15, 2011

    For almost every user, an archive manager should be available when needed, just do its job and get out the way. File roller does exactly that.

    Its probably worth having the lzma and (yuck!) unrar backends from the Add-ons list.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Jamie Pietarinen Mar 13, 2011

    Great tool to extract or create archives and is well integrated in the Ubuntu desktop. It is lightweight and fast.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • adrien courdavault May 8, 2011

    The soft is great and really stable. The GUI is really simple which is fine. Also, the support of so much formats is fantastic.

    Perhaps, just the message displayed when you need to install a new plug in, isn't clear (it should be more like the one in firefox)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Jonas G. Drange Jul 29, 2011

    I love archive manager and its integration in Ubuntu. It does what it needs to do and then retires.

    It even installs more ways for me to manage archives when needed.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Gregory Manore Jul 30, 2011

    Clean, easy interface to all the compression formats. Nice integration with the file manager. Highly recommended for everyone, beginner to advanced.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Ibrahim Aafy Aug 14, 2011

    better than winrar for windows

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

     
  • Matthaus Beschtutzer Nov 5, 2011

    simple and works great.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • hooda Nov 11, 2011

    very good application

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • Javier Ivona May 1, 2011

    This program can really do everything! It uncompressed even the least known file formats for me!

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Brett Cornwall Mar 12, 2011

    Come on, how can a program dealing with compression get me so proud? It's a master piece of software!

    It can compress and decompress anything so long as there's a plugin. And, if the format supports it, you can encrypt or split the files.

    All of this bundled in a dead-simple and beautiful GUI. Right click, compress. If only everything were so great.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • me May 12, 2011

    A TrueCrypt interface would be well received, too.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

     
  • Greg Auger Jan 28, 2011

    This utility never disappoints. It's particularly quick to use by right clicking within the file manager Nautilus and clicking "Extract here".

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • Reuben Swartz Feb 16, 2011

    An excellent archive manager that can be extended for other archive formats

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • Ash Rice Apr 2, 2011

    It's almost perfect and has support for everything!

     
  • moli Apr 29, 2011

    i prefer nc/vc/mc/krusader style file management over graphical interface

     
  • Micael Carvalho Sep 29, 2011

    It does it's job, nothing else. Too simple to be default, shouldn't be.

     
  • faust Jun 11, 2011

    understand really many extentions but works bad with cyrillic charsets

     
  • A.R.Pranav Sep 24, 2011

    Easy to use , functional , convinient and powerful .

     
  • Human Beings Dec 2, 2011

    lovely,, great,, heavily created with lots of application capability,, easy to handle & reliable to use...

     
  • Tom Dec 21, 2011

    It's very good to have a great archiving tool by default.

     
  • DoctorStew Dec 31, 2011

    Great program, It is simple and gives great acsess to RAR ect files

     
  • vthai Feb 8, 2012

    It used to be great, open all kinds of archive and we can update the archive on fly... but now in Ubunutu 11.10 dunno which version it is for File Roller, it cannot open WAR, EAR file anymore?!?

     
  • Peter Wolf Feb 14, 2012

    I have been using this program for many years and have never had a problem with it.It covers many compression types ,is fast and accurate.It is so good you can forget that files have been compressed at all.

     
π