• N Aug 27, 2011

    Can't get my WDTV Live Plus or my Android Phone (latest firmware and Android 2.3.4 Gingerbread) to see the network shares in combination with Samba. I'll give it 1 star for the interface, the other 4 are missing because it either doesn't work or how to use it is not documented.

    One more point, if you want former windows users to embrace Linux, start with a help system that forgoes the terminal and shows us how to get things working across the whole platform using the GUI only.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

     
  • gfx Nov 6, 2011

    In ubuntu the public shared folders show up on a Mac without a problem and without tedious editing of configuration files.

    In xubuntu it doesn't work at all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

     
  • syedrakib Oct 18, 2011

    The Share Files over the Network section says "This feature cannot be enabled because the required packages are not installed on your system". Should i not be guided on WHAT packages do i need to have installed?

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

     
  • Dana Fox Nov 19, 2011

    Right click on folder to share and allow share, missing software will be added with your permission..

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

     
  • indiethink May 4, 2011

    indiethink

     
  • Dave Morley Sep 22, 2011

    A Test review to be deleted by the reviewer

     
  • Drake411 Sep 13, 2011

    Really don't get it. I wanted to move files to and from my mac. Presently this is the only thing about my Ubuntu machine that shows up on my mac but it appears to be useless. Yes I can connect to my Ubuntu desktop and even remotely operate it. That's pretty cool except the window doesn't refresh very well and I get black blocks and out of sync blocks.
    I was brave and tried the terminal which at least can connect to my mac. I can't go the other way so I think this is a remote desktop app only. I haven't warmed to WebDAV so couldn't tell you if that is functioning. I think to get a good review an app should sheppard users into getting stuff done. They could start by changing the name. Can you share files with it? I dunno.
    I solved my problem with FileZilla. Moved files from my mac to my Ubuntu desktop like a charm. So I will be removing this app.

     
  • Bob Jan 30, 2012

    Good idea but dependencies are not met.
    I even re-installed it with Synaptic package manager and it is still busted!

     
π